

The special issue on Biochar as an Option for Sustainable Resource Management

Supplementary information

REPRESENTATIVENESS OF EUROPEAN BIOCHAR RESEARCH: PART I – FIELD EXPERIMENTS

Frank G. A. VERHEIJEN, Utra MANKASINGH, Vit PENIZEK, Pietro PANZACCHI, Bruno GLASER, Simon JEFFERY, Ana Catarina BASTOS, Priit TAMMEORG, Jürgen KERN, Costanza ZAVALLONI, Giulia ZANCHETTIN, Ruben SAKRABANI

Table 1. Thematic groups created within COST action TD1107 and the European Biochar Research Network (EBRN), listing the effects and mechanisms investigated in each group

Thematic group	Effect and mechanisms	
1 Soil biodiversity + ecotoxicity	Species richness; functional diversity; community structure; stressors.	
2 Quantity and quality changes in SOM	Carbon cycle; biochar stability; priming effect.	
3 GHGs emissions	Soil respiration; N_2O , CH_4 and CO_2 emissions.	
4 Soil physical properties	Plant available water retention; soil structure; compaction; bulk density; porosity, SWR; albedo, hydraulic conductivity; infiltration.	
5 Nutrient cycling + Crop productions	Nitrogen leaching and uptake; N cycle; P, K, and micronutrients; disease suppression; root development; stressors.	
6 Contamination + remediation	Biocides; metals; POPs (PAH radioactivity elements)	

Table 2. List of the participant countries and management committee members of EU COST Action TD1107. MC = management committee; MOU = memorandum of understanding. Data from the Cost Action website http://www.cost.eu/COST_Actions/fa/TD1107

COST Country	Date of MOU acceptance	MC member	MC substitute
Austria	09/01/2012	Dr Gerhard SOJA	Dr Franz ZEHETNER
		Mr Gerald DUNST	Dr Christoph STEINER
Belgium	29/02/2012	Dr Nele AMELOOT	Prof Frederik RONSSE
		Dr Greet RUYSSCHAERT	
Bulgaria		Dr Emiliya VELIZAROVA	
		Dr Georgi STOIMENOV	
Czech Republic	12/09/2012	Dr Lukas TRAKAL	Dr Petr SOUDEK
		Prof Ivo SAFARIK	
Denmark	30/01/2012	Dr Henrik HAUGGAARD-NIELSEN	Dr Jesper AHRENFELDT
		Dr Lars ELSGAARD	
Estonia	25/01/2012	Prof Jaak TRUU	Ms Helis ROSSNER
		Dr Henn RAAVE	Mr Peep PITK
Finland	14/02/2012	Dr Kari TIILIKKALA	Dr Visa NUUTINEN
		Dr Sanna SAARNIO	Dr Priit TAMMEORG
France	27/03/2012	Mr Frédéric REES	Dr Cyril GIRARDIN
		Dr Cornelia RUMPEL	
Germany	17/01/2012	Dr Jürgen KERN	Dr Jan MUMME
		Dr Claudia KAMMANN	

End of Table 2

COST Country	Date of MOU acceptance	MC member	MC substitute
Greece	14/02/2012	Dr Dimitrios KALDERIS	Ms Evita AGRAFIOTI
		Prof Evan DIAMADOPOULOS	Mr Michail PAPADAKIS
			Prof Ioannis MANARIOTIS
			Prof Anastasia ZABANIOTOU
Hungary	10/04/2012	Mr Edward SOMEUS	
Iceland	21/02/2012	Dr Utra MANKASINGH	
Ireland	15/03/2012	Dr Jj LEAHY	Dr Munoo PRASAD
		Dr Michael Hb HAYES	
Terre el	27/12/2011	Dr Ellen GRABER	
Israel		Dr Beni LEW	
T4 - 1	21/03/2012	Dr Costanza ZAVALLONI	Dr Gemini DELLE VEDOVE
Italy		Prof Giustino TONON	Dr Guido FELLET
Latria	20/01/2012	Dr Silvija STRIKAUSKA	
Latvia		Dr Olga MUTER	
Lithuania	21/04/2012	Prof Pranas BALTRENAS	Dr Edita BALTRENAITE
Noth onlog do	07/02/2012	Prof. Rob VAN HAREN	Dr Simon JEFFERY
Netherlands		Ms Irmgard STARMANN	
Nomun	02/02/2012	Mr Adam O TOOLE	Ms Alice BUDAI
Norway		Dr Marianne STENROD	
Poland	09/02/2012	Dr Lidia Maria SAS PASZT	Dr Beata SUMOROK
Dortugal	26/03/2012	Dr Frank VERHEIJEN	Dr Ana Catarina BASTOS
Poltugal		Dr Jan KEIZER	
D 1	28/03/2012	Ms Carmen Eugenia SIRBU	Dr Iulia ANTON
Komama		Ms Sanda VELEA	Dr Lucia ILIE
Slovakia	22/04/2012	Dr Jan HORAK	
		Dr Elena KONDRLOVA	
Slovenia	31/01/2013	Dr Dusan KLINAR	Dr Klavdija RIZNAR
Chain	12/12/2011	Prof Heike KNICKER	Mr Francisco Javier YUSTE CORDOBA
Span		Dr Gabriel GASCO GUERRERO	Ms Almudena Blanca BOTET JIMENEZ
0 1	06/03/2013	Dr Harald CEDERLUND	
Sweden		Prof John STENSTROM	Dr Samuel ABIVEN
Switzerland	24/01/2012	Mr Hans-Peter SCHMIDT	Dr Thomas BUCHELI
		Dr Jens LEIFELD	
Turkey	23/10/2012	Prof Salih AYDEMIR	Dr Gokcen AKGUL
		Dr Ibrahim ORTAS	Prof Jale YANIK
UK	17/01/2012	Dr Ruben SAKRABANI	Dr Luke BEESLEY

Table 3. Composition of the steering committee of EU COST Action TD1107. SC = steering committee; STSM = short terr
scientific mission. Data from the Cost Action website http://www.cost.eu/COST_Actions/fa/TD1107

Role	SC member	Country
Chair of the Action	Prof Bruno GLASER	Germany
Vice chair of the Action	Dr Ellen GRABER	Israel
WP1 managers	Prof Heike KNICKER	Spain
	Hans Peter SCHMIDT	Switzerland
WP2 managers	Dr Frank VERHEIJEN	Portugal
	Dr Costanza ZAVALLONI	Italy
WP3 managers	Dr Nele AMELOOT	Belgium
	Dr Simon SHACKLEY	United Kingdom
WP4 managers	Dr Ruben SAKRABANI	United Kingdom
	Dr Jürgen KERN	Germany
STSM manager	Dr Claudia KAMMANN	Germany



Fig. 1. Monitoring of multiple themes at the same field site